Aug 14, 2022  
2013-2014 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
2013-2014 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Officers of the University of Maine Correspondence Information


Officers of the University of Maine
Correspondence Information

Inquiries should be directed as indicated below.

Chancellor:
James H. Page, 16 Central Street, Bangor, ME 04401 (207) 973-3205

Officers of the University of Maine

President: Paul W. Ferguson, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 200, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1512.
E-MAIL: president@umaine.edu

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost: Jeffrey E. Hecker, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201 Orono, ME 04469-5703 (207) 581- 1547
E-MAIL: hecker@maine.edu

Associate Provost  5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1547.
E-MAIL:

Senior Vice President for Administration & Finance: Janet E. Waldron, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 218, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1554.
E-MAIL: jwaldron@maine.edu

Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations: Eric F. Rolfson, 101 College Ave., Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1151.
E-MAIL: eric.rolfson@maine.edu

Vice President for Research:  5703 Alumni Hall, Room 209, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1506.
E-MAIL:

Vice President for Enrollment Management: Jimmy Jung, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1591.
EMAIL: jimmy.jung@maine.edu
 
Senior Advisor to the President : Julie Hopwood, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 200, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1512.
E-MAIL: julie.hopwood@maine.edu

Athletics: Steven W. Abbott, Athletic Director, 215 Memorial Gym, Orono, ME 04469, (207)581-1052
E-MAIL: steven.abbott@umit.maine.edu

College of Business, Public Policy and Health and Director of the Maine Business School: Ivan M. Manev,  Dean, 5723 Donald P. Corbett Business Building, Room 211, Orono, ME 04469-5723, (207) 581-1968.
E-MAIL: imanev@maine.edu

College of Education and Human Development: William D. Nichols, Dean, 5766 Shibles Hall, Room 151, Orono, ME 04469-5766, (207) 581-2441.
E-MAIL: william.nichols1@maine.edu

College of Engineering: Dana N. Humphrey, Dean, 5796 Advanced Manufacturing Center, Room 210, Orono, ME 04469-5796, (207) 581-2213.
E-MAIL: danah@umit.maine.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences:  Dean,  5754 Stevens, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5754, (207) 581-1954.
E-MAIL:

College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture: Edward N. Ashworth, Dean, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5782 (207) 581-3202.
E-MAIL: edward.ashworth@umit.maine.edu

Division of Lifelong Learning: Lucielle E. Zeph, Associate Provost and Dean, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-3113.
E-MAIL: lzeph@maine.edu

Honors College: Francois Amar, Dean, 5716 Colvin Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5716, (207) 581-3262.
E-MAIL: amar@maine.edu

Academic Support Services for Student Athletes: Margaret A. Maxim, Director, 5747 Memorial Gymnasium, Orono, ME 04469-5747, (207) 581-1833.
E-MAIL: maxim@maine.edu

Admissions (Undergraduate): Sharon M. Oliver, Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 115, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-1561.
E-MAIL: UM_ADMIT@maine.edu

Advanced Structures and Composites Center: Habib J. Dagher, Director, AEWC, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-2123.
E-MAIL: hd@maine.edu

Alumni Association: Todd D. Saucier, President, 1 Alumni Place, Buchanan Alumni House, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1138.
E-MAIL: todd.saucier@umit.maine.edu

Auxiliary Services: Daniel H. Sturrup, Executive Director, 5734 Hilltop, Room 103, Orono, ME 04469-5734, (207) 581-1799.
E-MAIL: dsturrup@maine.edu

Billing Issues: William E. Elsmore, Bursar, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1521.
E-MAIL: elsemore@maine.edu

Bureau of Labor Education
: Marc T. Cryer, Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 210, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-4124.
E-MAIL: marc.cryer@maine.edu

Canadian-American Center: Stephen J. Hornsby, Director, 154 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4220.
E-MAIL: hornsby@maine.edu

Career Center: Patricia B. Counihan, Director, Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-1359.
E-MAIL: counihan@maine.edu

Center for Aging: Lenard W.  Kaye, Director, Camden Hall, 25 Texas Avenue, Bangor, ME 04401 (207) 262-7920.
E-MAIL: len.kaye@maine.edu

Center for Community Inclusion: Susan Russell, Interim Associate Director, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 111, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1084.
E-MAIL: srussell@maine.edu

Climate Change Institute: Paul A. Mayewski, Director, 5790 Bryand Global Science Center, Room 303, Orono, ME 04469-5790, (207) 581-2190.
E-MAIL: paul.mayewski@maine.edu

College Success Programs: Alan B. Parks, Director, 5725 East Annex, Orono, ME 04469-5725, (207) 581-2320.
E-MAIL: parks@maine.edu

Continuing and Distance Education and Summer University: Jeffrey E. St. John, Director, 122 Chadbourne Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-3143.
E-MAIL: jeffrey.stjohn@umit.maine.edu

Cooperative Extension: John M. Rebar, Executive Director, 5741 Libby Hall, Room 104B, Orono, ME 04469-5741, (207) 581-2811.
E-MAIL: john.rebar@maine.edu

Counseling Center: Douglas P. Johnson, Director, 5721 Cutler Health Center, Room 125, Orono, ME 04469-5721, (207) 581-1392.
E-MAIL: djohnson@maine.edu

Fogler Library: Joyce V. Rumery, Dean of Libraries, Fogler Library, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1655.
E-MAIL: rumery@maine.edu

Student Affairs: Robert Q. Dana, Vice President and Dean of Students, 5748 Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1406.
E-MAIL: rdana@maine.edu

Equal Opportunity and Diversity: Karen D. Kemble, Director, 5754 North Stevens Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5754, (207) 581-1226.
E-MAIL: karen.kemble@maine.edu

Explorations: Ethel Hill, Director, 101 East Annex, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1830.
E-MAIL: ehill@maine.edu

Franco American Centre: Yvon A. Labbe, Director, 5719 Crossland Center, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-3790.
E-MAIL: LABBE@maine.edu

Franco American Studies: Susan A. Pinette, Director, 213 Little Hall, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-3791.
E-MAIL: spinette@maine.edu

Graduate School: Daniel H. Sandweiss, Dean and Associate Provost for Graduate Studies, 42 Stodder Hall,  Orono, ME 04469-5755, (207) 581-3217.
E-MAIL: daniels@maine.edu

Human Resources: Judith S. Ryan, Associate Vice President for Human Resources and Administration, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1580.
E-MAIL: judyryan@maine.edu

Hutchinson Center: C. Sue McCullough, Director, 80 Belmont Avenue, Belfast, ME 04915, (207) 338-8000.
E-MAIL: sue.mccullough@umit.maine.edu

Information Technologies: John H. Gregory, Executive Director, 263 Telecom Building, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1602.
E-MAIL: jgregory@umit.maine.edu

International Programs (admissions): C.K. Kwai, Director, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5782, (207) 581-2905. E-MAIL: UMINTPRG@maine.edu

Maine Agricultural and Forest Experiment Station: Edward N. Ashworth, Director, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5782, (207) 581-3202.
E-MAIL: edward.ashworth@maine.edu

Margaret Chase Smith Center for Public Policy: Linda  K. Silka, Director, Building 4, York Complex, Orono, ME 04469-5715, (207) 581-1648.
E-MAIL: silka@umit.maine.edu

Marketing & Communications: Margaret A. Nagle, Senior Director of Public Relations and Operations,  219 Alumni Hall, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-3743
E-MAIL: nagle@maine.edu

Multicultural Student Affairs:  5748 Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469-5748, (207) 581-1406.

National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis: Kate Beard-Tisdale, Director, 5711 Boardman Hall, Room 348B, Orono, ME 04469-2811, (207) 581-2149.
E-MAIL: kate.beard@maine.edu

Native American Programs: Darren Ranco, Director, 5724 Dunn Hall Room 303, Orono, ME 04469-5706, (207) 581-4450.
E-MAIL: darren.ranco@umit.maine.edu

Peace and Reconciliation Studies: Kristina P. Nielson, Director, 120 Chadbourn Hall,  Orono, ME 04469-5725, (207) 581-2609.
E-MAIL: passman@maine.edu

Public Safety
: Roland LaCroix, Chief of Police and Director, Rangeley Road, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4053.
E-MAIL: roland.j.lacroix@maine.edu

Research and Sponsored Programs: Michael M. Hastings, Director, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 424 Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1486.
E-MAIL: mhastings@maine.edu

Safety and Environmental Management: Wayne M. Maines, Director, York Village, Building 7 Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4055
E-MAIL: wayne.maines@maine.edu

Student Financial Aid: Gianna F. Marrs, Director, 5781 Wingate Hall,  Orono, ME 04469-5781, (207) 581-1324.
E-MAIL: gianna@maine.edu

Student Health Services
: Richard C. Young, Auxilary Operatoins Director, 5721 Cutler Health Center, Orono, ME 04469-5721, (207) 581-4010.
E-MAIL: ryoung@maine.edu

Student Records: Kimberly D. Page, Director, 5781 Wingate Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5781, (207) 581-1288.
E-MAIL: kimberly.page@maine.edu

University of Maine Foundation
: Jeff H. Mills,  President and Chief Executive Officer, 2 Alumni Place, Buchanan Alumni House, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-5100, 1-800-982-8503.
E-MAIL: jeffmills@maine.edu.

University of Maine Pulp and Paper Foundation: Jack Healy, Executive Director, 5737 Jenness Hall, Room 217, Orono, ME 04469-5737, (207) 581-2297.
E-MAIL: healy@maine.edu

Wabanaki Center: John B. Mitchell, Outreach and Student Development Coordinator, 5724 Dunn Hall, Room 310, Orono, ME 04469-5724, (207) 581-1417.
E-MAIL: john.b.mitchell@maine.edu


Women’s Gender, and Sexuality Studies:
Mary L. Hough, Director, 5728 Fernald Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5728, (207) 581-1228.
E-MAIL: hough@maine.edu

Women’s Resource Center: Sharon E. Barker, Director, 5728 Fernald Hall, Room 102, Orono, ME 04469-5728, (207) 581-1508.
E-MAIL: sbarker@maine.edu