The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
The University of Maine    
  Oct 19, 2017
2008-2009 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic requirements for admission

Named Professorships and Chairs

Mark and Marcia Bailey Professorship of Speech and Theatre, Dr. Nathan E. Stormer
Bath Iron Works Professorship in Structural Engineering, Dr. Habib-J. Dagher
Adelaide C. Bird and Alan L. Bird Professor of American History,  Dr. Alexander I. Grab, Dr. Marli F. Weiner, Dr. Williams H. TeBrake
John C. Bridge Engineering Professorship, Dr. William G. Davids
Henry R. and Grace V. Butler Professorship of Electrical Engineering, Dr. Bruce E. Segee
Louis Calder Professor of Pulp and Paper Technology, Dr. Joseph M. Genco
Roger Clapp Castle and Virginia Averill Castle Distinguished Professorship in Electrical Engineering, Dr. Donald M. Hummels
Agatha B. Darling Professorship in Oceanography, Dr. Lawrence M. Mayer
Clare S. Darling Professorship in Oceanography, Vacant
Lloyd H. Elliott Professorship in English, visiting scholars
Edwin L. Giddings Professor of Forest Policy, Dr. Robert J. Lilieholm
Donald A. Grant Professorship in Mechanical Engineering, (vacant)
Robert N. Haskell ‘25 Power Engineering Professorship, (vacant)
Richard C. Hill Professorship in Mechanical Engineering, Dr. Mohsen Shahinpoor
Curtis Hutchins Professor of Forest Ecosystems Management, Dr. Robert S. Seymour
Ruth Hutchins Professor of Forest Tree Physiology, Dr. Michael S. Greenwood
Irving Chair for Forest Management, Dr. Jeremy S. Wilson
Libra Professorship in the College of Business,Public Policy and Health, (vacant)
Libra Professorship in the College of Education and Human Development, (vacant)
Libra Professorship in the College of Engineering, Dr. Michael L. Peterson
Libra Professorship in Conservation Biology, Dr. Malcolm L. Hunter, Jr.
Libra Professorship in the College of Natural Sciences, Forestry and Agriculture, Dr. Ian R. Bricknell
Libra Professorship of Geological Sciences, Dr. George H. Denton
Libra Professorship in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, History, Dr. Scott W. See
University of Maine Libra Professorship, Dr. Jeffrey C. Hall
Malcolm G. Long Professorship in Civil Engineering, Dr. Robert Lopez-Anido
Col. James C. McBride Distinquished Professorship in History, Dr. Richard C. Judd
John M. Murphy Chair in Business in the Maine Business School, (vacant)
J. Larcom Ober Research Chair in Chemical Engineering, Dr. Adriann R. P. Van Heiningen
Nicolas M. Salgo Professor of Business Administration, Dr. Ivan M. Manev
Henry W. Saunders Professor of Hardwood Silviculture, Dr. Robert G. Wagner
Mark R. Shibles Distinguished Visiting Professorship, (vacant)
Frank M. Taylor Distinguished Professorship in Civil Engineering, Dr. Eric N. Landis
University of Maine Visiting Libra Professorship, Dr. Thomas Prellberg
University of Maine Trustee Professorship, Dr. Rosemary L. Smith
Visiting Libra Professorship in Diversity, visiting scholars
Arthur O. Willey Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Dr. Senthil S. Vel